What causes an earth quake?

Earthquakes are usually caused when rock underground suddenly breaks along a fault. This sudden release of energy causes the seismic waves that make the ground shake. When 2 blocks of rock or 2 plates are rubbing against each other, they stick a little. When the rocks break, the earthquake occurs.