Has the united states ever had a tsunami?

Yes. They have struck Hawaii, Alaska, and the west coast. The worst 2 were in 1946, killing 159 people in Hawaii, and the 1964 Alaskan Earthquake caused a large tsunami. Record waves in Shoup Bay Alaska were roughly 220 ft or 76 meters high, about as high as the 22nd floor in a building.