When was garfield born?

The character Garfield is a fictional cat & the protagonist of the comic strip of the same name created by Jim Davis. The comic strip centers on Garfield as a lazy, fat & cynical orange Persian, noted for his love of lasagna, sleeping, his hatred of Mondays &exercise. The strip debuted 7/8/1976.