What is the origin of birthstones?

Scholars trace the origin of birthstones back to the Breastplate of Aaron. The Breastplate boasted 12 unique gemstones that represented the 12 months of the year and accruing 12 signs of the zodiac.

---

Scholars trace the origin of birthstones back to the Breastplate of Aaron, as described in the Book of Exodus in the Bible. The Breastplate boasted 12 unique gemstones that represented the 12 tribes of Israel. It was a religious garment with specific symbolism regarding the tribes.