What's the difference between human shampoo and dog shampoo?

Human skin has a different pH level than dog skin. A dog’s skin is more neutral than human skin, which makes most people shampoos much too acidic to be used safely. Using the wrong type of shampoo can upset the balance of your dog’s skin pH, causing serious irritation.