What does it mean to be under a tornado watch?

What does it mean to be under a tornado watch? The National Weather service says a TORNADO WATCH means BE PREPARED because tornadoes are possible in and near the watch area. This is the time to review and discuss emergency plans, check supplies and your safe room

---

A tornado watch means the atmospheric conditions are conducive to the formation of tornados. If you are under a tornado watch, the conditions in your area have a good chance of forming a tornado. A warning means a tornado has been identified either by visual confirmation or radar.