Is pokemon anime?

Pokemon is an anime rather than a cartoon since it was created in Japan and drawn (and animated) in the Japanese style.

---

Pokémon is an offshoot of anime closer related to a children’s animation yet illustrated in an Asian type style, allowing it to become easily mistaken for anime that is usually also originating in Asian cultures.