Is red cooking wine the same as red wine vinegar?

Both red wine and red wine vinegar are made from red grapes, but red wine vinegar is made from red wine that has been allowed to sour. The sugars in red wine turn to acetic acid, which gives vinegar its characteristic biting flavor.