How does a bee make a hive?

Hives are made of bee manufactured substance called Propolis. Propolis is a resin mixture that the bee makes using nectars gathered from plants, bee saliva, and wax mixed into a matrix, that provides a seal around the hive ,and a foundation for the wax combs they store honey in