Why is acetone cold?

Acetone is a very volatile solvent, meaning that it evaporates quickly. Heat is absorbed from whatever surface the acetone molecules are found on, and as they take heat from that surface and evaporate, the surface, feels cold because it's lost energy in the form of heat.