What are all spice berries?

Allspice is the dried brown berry of the tropical Pimenta dioica tree, a clove relative native to the West Indies and Central America. Allspice berries are harvested when green (unripe) and briefly fermented, then sun dried (or machine dried), during which they turn a reddish-brown.