Who is branch rickley?

Wesley Branch Rickey (1881–1965): Played & as sports exec instrumental in breaking MLB's color barrier (signed Jackie Robinson), created framework for minor league farm system, encouraged Major Leagues to add new teams thru involvement in proposed Continental League & introduced batting helmet.