How many eggs can a chicken lay per day?

Hens lay 1 egg per day, and only in rare cases, do they lay 2 eggs in one day.

---

A hen can lay only one egg in a day. Once in a great while, a very young hen may lay two eggs a day, but this is rather extraordinary.