How did bread and butter pickles get their name?

The origin of bread and butter pickles is attributed to Omar and Cora Fanning, cucumber farmers who started selling sweet and sour pickles in the 1920s Called “Fanning's Bread and Butter Pickles.” It is believed the name came by bartering them for staples such as bread and butter.