What's the difference between a male and female goldfish?

Female goldfish tend to have a rounder, thicker body shape than males. They also tend to be deeper-bodied. As breeding season approaches, the females will begin to develop roe (eggs), which may cause a bulge on one side, making the female look asymmetrical or lop-sided.