How do they make nails?

Nails are made by feeding a thick, continuous steel wire into a machine where the wire is gripped between two dies and is cut to the desired length. Sufficient metal to form the head is allowed to protrude from the dies at one end and is then flattened into a head by a blow from a mechanized hammer.