Is american cheese a hard cheese?

American cheese used to be made from a mixture of cheeses, more often than not Colby and Cheddar. Since blended cheeses are no longer used, it cannot be legally called “cheese” and has to be labelled as “processed cheese” or “cheese food stuff“. It is definitely not a hard cheese.