What is a jedi?

A Jedi is a type of character in the Star Wars franchise who is trained in the use of the Force, including the wielding of a lightsaber, for service to the galaxy.

---

The letters, J, E, D, I, means 1 of the Jedi Order, whom are the main heroic protagonists of many works of Star Wars. The Jedi Order is depicted as a monastic, academic, martial, peacekeeping organization whose origin dates back thousands of years