What does r. thirty four mean?

R134a is the "name" of a refrigerant primarily used in vehicles beginning in 1992, becoming standard by 1994. It was a replacement for the ozone depleting refrigerant r22, which had been used up until that time. R134a has a planned phase out, with no new vehicles using it after January 1st 2024.