Who is ivan the gorilla?

Ivan was a western lowland gorilla born in 1962 in what is now the Democratic Republic of the Congo. He was captured from the wild as a baby and brought to live with humans.

---

Ivan lived in a big variety store called the B&I Circus partly owned by the Irwin family near Tacoma, WA for 30 years. He was moved to to the Atlanta zoo and died in 2012.