What is proto matter of the universe?

"Proto-matter of the universe" crossword clue = YLEM: Y L E M, per NYTimesCrossword.org. According to Wikipedia, Ylem is a hypothetical original substance or condensed state of matter, which became subatomic particles and elements as we understand them today.