Tell me the story of pied piper?

The Pied Piper of Hamelin appears in many writings. The folklore goes that a town hired a piper to lure rats away from the town with his magic pipe. When the townspeople refused to pay the piper as previously agreed, he retaliated by using his pipe to lure the children away from the town.