Why was malcolm x. murdered?

Malcolm X was murdered because he started going against his cult leader, Elijah Muhammad and his position was gaining more and more power. Elijah Muhammad was threatened by this. Elijah Muhammad's cult: The Nation of Islam was behind Malcolm's murder.