Who was the autobiographer of casey at the bat?

Casey at the Bat: A Ballad of the Republic Sung in the Year 1888" is a baseball poem written in 1888 by Ernest Thayer. The poem was originally published anonymously (under the pen name "Phin", based on Thayer's college nickname, "Phinney").