What do nitrates come from?

Nitrates are made by combining Nitrogen with another element. Sodium Nitrate and Potassium Nitrate are used as a food preservative. Ammonium Nitrate is a basic fertilizer and can be made into an explosive. Other Nitrate have multiple industrial usages.