What is a spotted cat?

The rusty-spotted cat (Prionailurus rubiginosus) is one of the cat family's smallest members. Known only from India and Sri Lanka and the western Terai of Nepal. Since 2016, it is listed as Near Threatened on the IUCN Red List dur to loss and destruction of its prime habitat, deciduous forests.