What do lychees grow on?

Lychee is a tropical evergreen tree native to China, where it grows in a warm, wet climate. Like many other tropical fruits, lychee is not a natural choice for indoor gardeners. It bears small, dimpled fleshy fruits with an inedible skin and a sweet flesh inside.