What year did lynyrd skynyrd's plane crash?

On October 20, 1977, a plane chartered by Lynyrd Skynyrd crashed in southeastern Mississippi during a failed emergency landing, killing band-members Ronnie Van Zant, Steve Gaines, and Cassie Gaines, as well as the band’s assistant road manager and the plane’s pilot and co-pilot.