What age is a senior citizen?

While there is no universally accepted standard regarding the age at which people become senior citizens, most Western industrialized nations consider the onset of old age to be at age 60 or 65. That's when most Americans retire and become eligible for senior programs based on age.

---

most people consider a senior citizen to be over the age of sixty five, the common retirement age, but many businesses give senior discounts to any one over fifty or fifty five.