What is a seaweed derivative?

Seaweed or edible sea vegetables are the forms of algae that are widely consumed as a food and even as ingredients in various processed foods. The seaweed derivatives, also known as seaweed hydrocolloids that are extracted in the form of alginates, agar, and carrageenan.