What is the four two five defensive football?

The 4-2-5 Defense uses 4 down linemen, 2 linebackers, and 5 defensive backs. It's an especially flexible style of defense because the linebackers and defensive backs, if experienced, can immediately adjust to defending a run or pass play based on what they see in the formation of the offense.