Are green potatoes toxic?

It depends. The green could be a small amount of chlorophyll, which is not harmful. But dark green potatoes are dangerous. They can have solanine, which can make you very sick. It is better to throw the potato out.

---

Although the green color itself is not harmful, it may indicate the presence of a toxin called solanine. Peeling green potatoes can help reduce solanine levels, but once a potato has turned green, it's best to throw it away.