Do athletes have to go to college before the pros?

In basketball, football, and baseball, athletes must complete at least one year of college before going pro. Other sports, such as golf, tennis, and track and field, allow athletes to turn pro directly out of high school.

---

No, you don't have to be in college to play pro sports, but it is the best route. American Soccer star Carli Lloyd posted a video her kicking field goals quite easily and was invited by several NFL teams to tryout as a placekicker