How does altitude affect boiling water?

According to the USDA, at sea level, water boils at 212 degrees Fahrenheit. With each 500-feet increase in elevation, the boiling point of water is lowered by just under 1 degree Fahrenheit. At 7,500 feet, for example, water boils at about 198 degrees Fahrenheit.