Can cats taste spicy?

Cats have many heightened senses compared to humans, but taste is not one of them. They can sense spicy foods, but they're not good for them, so limit their chili intake. Their bowels will thank you. Since they survive almost solely on meat, their ability to sense sugar never developed.