What is a red crystal mean?

The Red Crystal is a recently adopted "safe" image, part of the 2005 update to the Geneva Convention. Consider it equal to the Red Cross or Red Crescent symbols. Any of these represent an active humanitarian mission, by military medical services or the International Red Cross/Red Crescent.