What's the smallest form of matter?

We know that atoms do not represent the smallest unit of matter. Particles called quarks and leptons seem to be the fundamental building blocks - but perhaps there is something even smaller. So, scientists are still trying to figure that out. Maybe you can become a scientist and find the answer.