What is the white film on grapes?

The foggy white “bloom'' sometimes found on grapes is a yeast known as saccharomyces cerevisiae. It grows in soil and then becomes airborne, settling into the skins of the fruit as they mature and continuing to propagate until the grapes are harvested.