How was april fool's day invented?

Some historians believe that April Fools Day dates back to fifteen eighty two, when France switched from the Julian calendar to the Gregorian calendar. People who were slow to get the news or failed to recognize that the start of the new year had moved became the butt of jokes and hoaxes.