Who invented the door lock?

The earliest patent for a double-acting pin tumbler lock was granted to American physician Abraham O. Stansbury in England in 1805, but the modern version was invented by American Linus Yale, Sr. in 1848. History of mechanical locks started over 6 thousand years ago in Ancient Egypt.