What does akamaru mean?

Akamaru (赤丸, Akamaru) is a ninja dog (忍犬, ninken) from Konohagakure's Inuzuka Clan. He is Kiba Inuzuka's partner, as well as his best friend and companion. He is also a member of Team Kurenai