Why does santa claus wear a red suit?

Santa's suit is red because of a hugely successful advertising campaign for Coca-Cola that featured a big Father Christmas wearing red robes with a white trim, the soft drink's colours. But the red and white actually derive from the colours of Saint Nicholas.