Who is the christmas donkey?

"Dominick the Donkey" is a Christmas song written by Ray Allen and was recorded by Lou Monte in 1960, on Roulette Records. The song describes a donkey who helps Santa Claus bring presents ("made in Brooklyn") to children in Italy "because the reindeer cannot climb" Italy's hills.