What is middle child syndrome?

The middle child syndrome is a psychological condition where a child, who is the middle one in between two siblings, feels left out. The middle child’s behavior towards his or her siblings becomes negative, feels pangs of jealousy and inadequacy, has low self-esteem, and becomes an introvert.