What's the difference between water repellent and water resistant?

Water resistant is a low level of protection and will temporarily resist water intrusion. Water repellent is a medium level of protection and means the surface has been coated with a substance that is hydrophobic, making the water bead and roll off. This type of coating is not permanent, though.