Why is gum sticky?

The polymers in bubble gum are hydrophobic, which means they repel water. While these polymers repel water, they're attracted to oil. When they come into contact with oily surfaces, such as sidewalks, soles of shoes, fingers, and hair, they form a strong bond and stick tight.