How do you great fresh ginger?

First use the side of a teaspoon to scrape skin from ginger root. Use the rounded tip to get into tough places. Then Place a fork against a cutting board with tines facing up. Rub the peeled ginger across the tines. Repeat until you have desired amount of grated ginger.