What does one thousand c. e. mean?

1000 years C.E. refers to 1000 years “in the common era.” C.E. uses the same numbering as “A.D.” which stands for the Latin phrase “Anno Domini” or “the year of the Lord” (referring to the birth of Jesus Christ).