What is lemon extract?

Lemon extract is a lemon-flavored liquid made by soaking lemon peels in alcohol or oil. It adds a bright lemon flavor to a dish without any of the tartness. Using lemon extract instead of lemon juice will prevent any dairy ingredients from curdling because it lacks the acidity of lemon juice.