What are the keys on a piano?

There are a row of 88 keys on most acoustic piano's although some electric keyboards are designed with fewer keys for portability. However, a standard piano has 52 white keys which play the notes of the C Major Scale (C,D,E,F,G,A,B) and 36 shorter black keys raised above and set back from the white